ELITE Grid Research Lab News

Pasan Gunawardena presented at the 13th International Symposium on PEDG.

June 26, 2022: Pasan Gunawardena delivered an online presentation titled “Duality Principle Enabled Systematic Analysis and Operation Design of New Multiport Converters for Renewable Generation Integration” in IEEE 13th International Symposium on Power Electronics for Distributed Generation Systems (PEDG) held in in Kiel, Germany.


Prof. Yunwei (Ryan) Li received the 8th Nagamori Awards.

May 26, 2022: Congratulations to Prof. Yunwei (Ryan) Li on receiving the 8th Nagamori Awards. After a strict and impartial review by Nagamori Foundation’s Review Committee, the following recipients were selected for the 8th Nagamori Awards: Huijun Gao, Yunwei (Ryan) Li, Burak Ozpineci, Maryam Saeedifard, Akio Yamamoto.


Mingzhe Wu received the 2022 Andrew Stewart Memorial Graduate Prize.

May 12, 2022: Congratulations to Mingzhe Wu on receiving the 2022 Andrew Stewart Memorial Graduate Prize. The Andrew Stewart Memorial Graduate Prize is significant and unique in that is awarded in direct recognition of excellence in research at the doctoral level.


Nie Hou has successfully defended his Ph.D. dissertation.

Feb. 24, 2022: Congratulations to Nie Hou on successfully defending his dissertation, “Dynamic Optimization for Dual-Active-Bridge-Based DC-DC Converter Systems”, and earned his Ph.D. degree.


Pasan Gunawardena et al. received the Prize Paper Award from IEEE IAS.

Oct. 29, 2021: The paper titled “A Dual-Input Single-Output DC-DC Converter Topology for Renewable Energy Applications” by Pasan Gunawardena et al., received the second prize from the IEEE IAS Renewable and Sustainable Energy Conversion Systems (RSECS) Committee conference paper award for 2020-2021.


Contact Info


7th Floor ECERF

University of Alberta

9109-116 Street NW

Edmonton AB T6G 2V4